top of page
Search
  • satishtumulu

GEEC Speak! with Faye Siluk from the Faculty of Engineering's E-IDEA Initiative

In this edition of GEEC Speak!, GEEC gets to know Faye Siluk, who is working on designing, supporting, and promoting pedagogical change through the E-IDEA initiative of the Faculty of Engineering at McGill University. GEEC is currently working in collaboration with E-IDEA and together recently hosted a great workshop on integrating values with outreach (Action x Design with E-IDEA). Stay tuned for upcoming events where you can join the conversation and explore more!

 

First of all, congratulations on all the great work E-IDEA is doing! Tell us, what is the vision behind E-IDEA and what are some of the goals it is working toward right now?


E-IDEA (Engineering Inclusivity, Diversity, and Equity Advancement) aims to develop learning opportunities that bring EDI (equity, diversity, and inclusion) to life in applied, integrated ways. E-IDEA is all about getting people to solve problems together, to identify their needs, and to better understand the needs of others.

Faye Siluk, E-IDEA Teamwork Initiative

Whether it’s in the classroom through the Teamwork Initiative, with our partners in local community schools through our Youth Action & Outreach program, or focusing on faculty and staff through the Equity Ambassadors & Faculty Equity Committee, the common thread is to be intentional about linking EDI concepts to our complex, dynamic lived experiences.


Our exciting news (so far!) of 2021 is that we’ve received funding to continue expanding both the Teamwork Initiative and the Youth Action & Outreach program. We’ll be working towards integrating course-based teamwork & EDI skills into all departments in engineering, as well as to further our partnerships with youth and teachers in local schools to support meaningful learning experiences, involving design thinking, and cross-curricular project-based learning while connecting with community members (as well as McGill students and staff) to build upon knowledge, skills, and shared expertise.



What is your specific role with E-IDEA? What have you found most rewarding about your work within the Faculty’s E-IDEA project?


My official role is to design and implement two of E-IDEA's projects: The Teamwork Initiative and Youth Action & Outreach. In practice, this looks like coordinating, developing, facilitating, and assessing projects that bring EDI and teamwork skills into practice through applied in-class contexts. I also liaise with two local high schools to plan and support design-thinking project-based learning opportunities that invite youth, McGill students, and staff to collaborate. Lastly, I sit on the Faculty Equity Committee and co-design/facilitate meetings for the Equity Ambassador group.


One of the things I find most rewarding about this role is how dynamic it is. I’m a natural “connector”, so being in this role allows me to tap into my ability to connect the dots between people, spaces, communities, and projects.

You are also an Equity Ambassador for the Faculty of Engineering. How does this tie into your other work within the Faculty?


Being an Equity Ambassador (EA) fits quite nicely with my role. Firstly, it helps me connect to equity-related goals and needs on a broader faculty level. Secondly, it has introduced me to other folks in Engineering who are dedicated to the ongoing learning inherent to EDI work. When I first joined the EA group I didn’t expect to get involved with the design and delivery of meetings, but I’ve found it to be another meaningful space to share my approach for facilitation and participatory learning experiences.


We would like to get to know you outside your role as the Equity Ambassador – your background, personal interests, and anything else you’d like us to know!


My educational and professional background has led to my current role in surprising yet rewarding ways. Firstly, it feels important to note that I’m not an engineer. I’m trained as a teacher, and most of my classroom experience was with children in special education, mental-health setting. The schools I worked in approached education through trauma-informed practices, which opened my eyes to an extremely valuable way of teaching and learning. After working with kids and their families, I wanted to learn more about systemic oppression and how to reduce suffering. I then completed a Master’s degree in Human Systems Intervention at Concordia University, which essentially aims to improve organizational & systemic cultures by examining the ways we work, lead, live, learn, and relate. A few years later, I now find myself in this E-IDEA role, merging my teaching, facilitation, and design skills with my desire to influence a ripple effect for positive change.


Outside of my role at McGill, I love cooking new recipes (it’s one way that I cope with stress), dancing, and being with my pets. I grew up in the outskirt of Montreal, so I’m lucky to have family and longtime friends nearby!


Some of E-IDEA’s programming involves collaborations outside the Faculty of Engineering. Why is community engagement important when addressing equity?


When addressing equity, it’s important to connect with the complexity of lived experiences. We can so easily get caught up in theories and abstract ideas, especially in academia. That’s why we emphasize the importance of working with local communities; to ensure that we’re grounded and responsive to current, real-world issues.


Engaging with local communities helps us listen to and learn from diverse perspectives so that we can tailor our design work (whether it’s pedagogical design or engineering design) to suit their needs in sustainable ways. I think that we have a lot to learn from the people who live and work in the Greater-Montreal/ Tiohtià:ke area. McGill has so much to offer, but the campus is just a slice of real-life. Local communities can be approached and understood as microcosms of our society on a broader (more diverse and complex) level.

"Building outdoor debris shelters with students at the Kahnawake Survival School, in fall of 2019. Designing and constructing these shelters allowed students to put the design cycle into action while also practicing teamwork skills and having fun outdoors. It provided a great opportunity to reflect on the successes and challenges we faced throughout the process."

When should an individual reach out to E-IDEA? What’s the best way to contact and/or connect with you?


We are expanding our projects and are currently on the lookout for more team members. We have both volunteer opportunities and paid roles. If you’re interested in working with youth, learning more about local communities beyond the McGill campus, or supporting EDI & teamwork learning in Engineering courses, please get in touch! You can reach me via email: faye.siluk@mcgill.ca. I’m happy to chat virtually and (hopefully!) in person sometime soon.

108 views0 comments
bottom of page